filled and fooled

NSFW/MATURE CONTENT

Summer poem

12 Comments

I wilt, I bend, I sulk when my basin is dry

mist me with promise of change, so I can again reach the sky

I dig, I burrow, I entrench to a depth unknown

to gain footing in your crumbling soil, even as I stand alone

I open, I uncurl, I expose my simple heart-shaped shoots of green

to search out your light, so I can give breath forever unseen

facing the east I shall open to expose my true color

my inflorescence bursting forth, but it is above your head I now hover

the wind initiates the change in my vibrant spiral packed with seed

spreading my kin across your garden, I am such a beautiful weed

12 thoughts on “Summer poem

  1. I love it when you post stuff like this, G.

    And you’re not a weed, even though sulking.

    This is three times as long as the number of words. Thanks for sharing, eh.

    β€œThe violets in the mountains have broken the rocks.”
    – Tennessee Williams

    • Thank you Dave! I’m glad you liked it.

      That is a gorgeous and meaningful quote! Even violets are like weeds, and that is perfectly okay, they are still beautiful. My strawberry plants are like weeds, even though they flower and bear candy-like fruit. Weeds are great, they are untamed and wild, free, and control their surroundings if given space.

  2. I love that poem. I do love your writing Miss. Jayne

  3. Beautiful! I love things like this!

    • Thank you so much!! My lone sunflower dancing in the wind got me this morning.

      • Re: Lone Sunflower (dancing in the wind)

        Ah, Sun-flower, weary of time,
        Who countest the steps of the Sun,
        Seeking after that sweet golden clime
        Where the traveller’s journey is done:
        Where the Youth pined away with desire,
        And the pale Virgin shrouded in snow
        Arise from their graves, and aspire
        Where my Sun-flower wishes to go.

        ~ William Blake

  4. Pingback: Boobday is Friday, June 21st! | filledandfooled

  5. Lovely. Bellissima.

I want to know what you think, please comment below:

